Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

cinquenta y seis April 22, 2008

Filed under: Life,Personal — Lulu @ 6:49 pm

Once upon a time, on a lush, tropical island in the Caribbean, there was a boy… Well, actually, he was already considered a man. He was tall and thin, with curly, dark-blonde hair and bright, baby blue eyes, which he usually kept hidden behind dark sunglasses.

One day, the boy was sitting at the kitchen window in his Tia’s house, waiting for her to make un cafécito. He glanced out the window and saw a girl walking by. She was cute and curvy, with black hair, ivory skin and hazel eyes.

The boy turned to his cousin and asked,“Quien es esa muchacha?” (“Who is that girl?”)

His cousin replied, “La prima de mi esposa.” (“My wife’s cousin.”) [The girl was visiting her Tia and Tio that lived next door.]

The boy answered “Quiero que me la presentes.” (“I want you to introduce me to her.”)

“Porque?” (“Why?”), asked his cousin.

“Porque ella va a hacer mi esposa y la madre de mis hijos,” the boy declared with all the confidence in the world. (“Because she is going to be my wife and the mother of my children.”)

Six months later, at the tender ages of 22 (him) and 17 (her), they became husband and wife.

Together they fled the oppressive political regime of that island and made their way to a different country, where they didn’t know the language or the customs, for the betterment of their family. They raised two children, always straddling two very different cultures, and built a simple life filled with love, values and unity. They watched their only grand-daughter blossom into a beautiful, strong-headed woman. They worked hard every day to keep their family happy and healthy, and were able to retire so they could enjoy their “golden years” together.

Fifty-six years later, they are still going strong.

FELICIDADES, MAMI Y PAPI!
Happy *56th Anniversary!

4/23/08: I just talked to my mom and asked her about this story. She remembered that the first time she met my dad he was wearing a long-sleeved, brown linen shirt with a small leaf pattern on it. She said that when she first saw him, with his wavy blonde hair and blue eyes, she went weak in the knees. Dude, how cute is that??

 

Leave a Reply

