Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

someday my home will come April 3, 2008

Filed under: Life,Personal — Lulu @ 6:56 pm

I currently reside in a two-bedroom apartment in lovely, suburban (emphasis on the "urban") Kendall, Florida. (FYI: Miami is broken up into all these neighborhoods with different names; essentially, they all fit together like puzzle pieces to make up the all-encompassing "Miami.") While I think my apartment is cute, and I love having the second bedroom set up as a home office-slash-scraproom, I often long to have a real "home." A house of my very own. Nothing too crazy or extravagant. Just something comfortable and cozy and "homey." With walk-in closets. And a washer and dryer. What?? That’s not a lot to ask, I swear!

Because of this desire to nest in a… well… a NEST, I have been subscribing to shelter and "homestyle" magazines for years. I’ve amassed quite a collection of Domino, House Beautiful, Real Simple and Martha Stewart Living. I love to thumb through them and get all kinds of ideas and inspiration for decorating and organizing (notice I said "ideas and inspiration," because Lord knows there is no fundage for actual implementation) my dream home.

BUT… If I ever win the lottery… I am sooo going to get a cute, little house and recreate some of these looks. Someday. Maybe. (sigh)


1. Palmer Weiss Interior Design; 2. Unknown; 3. Made by Girl

 

Leave a Reply

