Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Palouse Falls, WA May 11, 2012

Filed under: Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 4:20 pm

As part of a week-long visit to Washington last month, the boy, his mom and I took a day trip to Palouse Falls State Park, located in Washtucna, WA.

 

This place is so gorgeous. I can’t even really describe the beauty of the falls and the surrounding areas. First you find yourself driving through miles and miles of rolling hillsides, some so lush and green they bring to mind images of verdant Irish landscapes. Then, you finally come to the falls. Undetectable from the road, but after you park your car and walk a short distance, you come to this.

 

IMG_9228 

IMG_9213 IMG_9226

Obligatory “babe, stand in front of the waterfall” picture.

IMG_9256 

These cute, little guys are yellow-bellied marmots (aka “rockchuck”) and they’re a type of ground squirrel. They were pretty tame, but I suppose they are accustomed to people by now.

IMG_9231 IMG_9243 

And, apparently, they like Lay’s Barbecue Chips.

IMG_9248 IMG_9255

Here’s the boy and his mom, and one last shot before we left.

IMG_9260 IMG_9262

Seriously, this place is so beautiful and peaceful. I could have stayed there all day just enjoying the view.

 

Peace out, yo!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.