Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Weekend in the keys – Part 3 December 21, 2011

Filed under: Life,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 1:01 am

When we left the Hemingway House, we walked right past the Key West Lighthouse, which was built in 1847. It was about 4:30PM and they close at 5PM. If we’d had more time, I would have loved to have toured the inside.

IMG_8641

We kept walking down the street to the buoy at the Southernmost Point. I’d been there once before, but there was such a crowd of people I couldn’t get close enough to take a picture. This time there was a short line of folks waiting to be photographed in front of it. We waited about 10 minutes for our turn.

IMG_8646 IMG_8645

Cuba is that way. Oh, hey, I think I see my uncle! Hola, Tio!  We wanted to head over to Duval Street for a bit and didn’t want to wait around too long for the full-on sunset, but this was good enough to get the sense of it.

IMG_8651 IMG_8653

We were walking down Duval when we caught a glimpse of a guy in a spangly tank top and short shorts singing karaoke in this bar – 801 Bourbon Bar – so, of course, we had to check it out. This place was great! Old queens, karaoke and beer? Hell, yeah!

IMG_8657 

Can I just say I am completely jealous of the phenomenal butt and legs on this guy??

IMG_8659

After 801 Bourbon Bar, we headed to Sloppy Joe’s.

IMG_8668 IMG_8662

We decided to order some appetizers at Sloppy Joe’s since we were getting pretty hungry by that point. We ordered arepas, conch chowder and hot, salted pretzels. That hit the spot perfectly. There was a great latin salsa band playing which lent a very festive, fun air to the place.

IMG_8669 IMG_8670IMG_8671 IMG_8672

After Sloppy Joe’s, we walked a little further down to the Hog’s Breath Saloon where we each had one of their signature beers.

IMG_8673 IMG_8676

I had completely forgotten to take any pictures of the two of us together until this point.

IMG_8677

We finished up the night at Irish Kevin’s Bar. We were actually walking back to the car to leave when we heard this guy (John Solinski) singing and he totally brought us in off the street. Like the Pied Piper of adult drinking establishments or something! He was really great and very entertaining. I wish we’d had more time to hang out here, but we had a long way to drive home so we had to call it a night.

IMG_8681 IMG_8679

And that’s about it for our weekend in the Keys. We had a lot of fun and it was nice to get away for a little bit.

 

Peace out, yo!

 

2 Responses to “Weekend in the keys – Part 3”

  1. I really enjoy reading your blog and have nominated you for a Liebster Award.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.