Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Weekend in the Keys – Part 2 December 20, 2011

Filed under: Life,Photography,Travel — Lulu @ 1:01 am

Key West residents are known for being eccentric.  If the Christmas décor of this house is any indication, I would say that’s a pretty accurate assessment. Just around the corner from this house was a little secondhand bookstore so, of course, I had to stop in. I practiced restraint and only got one book and a handful of vintage-y postcards.

IMG_8607 IMG_8608

Our next stop was The Hemingway House Museum. The boy wanted to see it and, although I had been there before, I was happy to tour the home again.

IMG_8609 IMG_8611

All of the furniture is original to the home during the time that Hemingway lived there.

IMG_8613 IMG_8620

Hemingway’s 2nd wife, Pauline, replaced all the ceiling fans in the house with these chandeliers. The headboard of the master bed is actually a gate from a 17th century Spanish monastery.

IMG_8614 IMG_8622

The kitty fountain (for the almost 50 polydactyl – six-toed – cats that live on the property) was built in 1933 and is made from an olive jar imported from Cuba and… a discarded urinal from the original Sloppy Joe’s Bar!

IMG_8631 IMG_8623 

Pauline had the pool built to surprise Hemingway. It cost $20,000. Surprise!

IMG_8624 IMG_8630

Hemingway’s writing studio, preserved as it was originally, including his chair, table and 1920s Royal manual typewriter.

IMG_8628 IMG_8629

Family photos and the master bath.

IMG_8634 IMG_8635

Close-up of the floor tiles and the family’s personal book collection.

IMG_8636 IMG_8637

Memorabilia from the family’s personal archives and the kitchen.

IMG_8638 IMG_8639

 

Part 3 coming up soon…

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.