Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

Yankee Doodle Dandy July 5, 2011

Filed under: Life,Personal,Photography — Lulu @ 4:12 pm

The boy and I have an Independence day tradition of heading over to Ocean Drive, on South Beach, to watch the fireworks from the sand. This year, we skipped the free jazz concert beforehand and headed straight to the sand in order to secure a good spot at the front of the crowd.

 

See? Crowd…

IMG_8055 

Front of crowd… =)

IMG_7859 IMG_7856

As usual, I took about 200 pictures and maybe 10 were usable… after a LOT of Photoshop. Man, fireworks are tough!

IMG_7919 IMG_7924 

I really like the next four, if only for the cool effect the red glow gives off. Plus, I like that you can see the sand and buildings towards the bottom of the pictures.

IMG_7938 IMG_7941 

IMG_7943 IMG_7954

IMG_8011x IMG_8057

(Below is a short video I shot of the fireworks. You may want to lower your volume at around 00:09 in. You’ll see why.)

 

 

Hope everyone had a very safe and happy Independence Day weekend!

 

Peace out, yo!

 

2 Responses to “Yankee Doodle Dandy”

  1. Aw, I’ve wanted to do just that for ages. Definitely will next year. Great pics.
    Besitos <3

  2. ady abreu Says:

    I have crappy photos of fireworks but they are being scrapped as is. Photoshop and me are not friendly at all.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.