Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

SMASH Pages June 15, 2011

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 8:57 pm

As promised, here are some of my completed SMASH book pages for the black book (Mod theme).

 

The front inside cover and first page (behind the vellum) are just a plain baby blue. It’s not my favorite color so I decided to cover them. On the inside cover (left side) I used a sheet of patterned paper from K&Company’s Urban Rhapsody pad, letter stickers from Webster’s Pages, a Hambly bird sticker and an old photo of me and the boy that didn’t print correctly (the colors weren’t calibrated properly) but I hadn’t thrown away.

IMG_7780

I covered the first page with a retro recipe card (recipe printed on the back) that I had received in a Sweet Twee Labs kit about two years ago.

IMG_7782

On the backside of the first page I glued a regular paper bag to use as a pocket. I wanted to cover the logo from the store so I used some Chinese joss paper (traditionally used in religious ceremonies such as funerals) and a couple pieces of Japanese washi paper that my friend, Agi, gave me. (The “Oh, Hi!” page is “as is.”)

IMG_7783

On the next two pages are a random collection of things I like. (Left) A postcard from a Clinique gift set, a card my friend made using a stamped image and a quote from Picasso, and a printed image of a vintage “sexy” girl. (Right) A sticker of the boy as Mona Lisa (from one of those mall photobooth thingies), a tag from a shirt (I liked that the tag was letterpress on craft paper), a really awful photobooth picture we took at the Seattle Center, and some strips of washi paper that were left over from a project.

IMG_7784

On the left of these pages is a postcard from an art fair I attended a couple of years ago. (I love religious imagery as art.) The image on the right is a printout of a pen and ink drawing from artist Yelena James’ website. On these I used Japanese washi tape to attach them to the page. I like that the tapes are low-tack (so the items can be moved if needed) but still hold pretty well.

IMG_7785

On the left is that same picture from the front of the book (my fave pic of us… obviously.) and a paper “outfit” that was on a greeting card a received a long time ago. On the right are a little rant from me comparing Washington to Florida (with maps!), and an ampersand print from (I think) Elise Blaha’s site (I love fonts and graphic prints).

IMG_7787

On the right is a collection of movie ticket stubs, along with a little list of my Top 5 movies (that came from the “Entertainment” Smash Pad). I actually changed this page after taking the picture. I moved the list to the page on the left and added a second list with the boy’s Top 5 movies as well.

IMG_7788

This is a perfect example of one of those “random” pages the Smash books are made for. I had a tag from a Lulu brand handbag and a picture that was part of the party favors at my friend’s baby shower. In the “Family” Smash pad there was a page titled “Story of My Nickname”, which happens to be Lulu. I put the three items together so that it all makes sense to me. The “Dr Pepper” tag was the bottom part of a coupon for a free 2-liter we got at Publix this weekend. What better way to note my absolute, undying love of Dr. Pepper?

IMG_7789

A simple list of all the bands I’ve seen in concert. (Love this ledger print paper.)

IMG_7790

An assortment of things I love: an expired annual pass for Jungle Island, Starbucks cup sleeve and expired gift card, tag from my Crocs slingback mary janes (which have become my favorite shoes), and the tags from my pink ThorMX backpack that I am totally in love with.

IMG_7791

(Left) A little list of things that inspire me, a Hambly owl sticker (I love owls), and the invite from my friend’s baby shower (attached with washi tape). (Right) A picture of me and my favorite cousin from his birthday party in 2008, a picture of me and my dad dancing at my sister’s wedding in 1977, and a little questionnaire from the “Family” Smash pad.

IMG_7793

I love great quotes. I have a notebook where I write all the quotes I come across that I really like. I decided to add my favorite to these two pages. On the right is an insert from the package of the Chinese joss paper. I just wrote a quote right over the image.

IMG_7794

I have a Life Stories paper pad from My Mind’s Eye that includes all these little prompts and questionnaires that you can fill out for scrapbook pages. I cut apart the elements of one of the pages and just arranged them in here. It’s just things like my favorite food, favorite color, birthdate, quirks, etc. The title is made with foam letters from my scrapping stash.

IMG_7795

The “GO” tag is from a piece of clothing (from Target, I think). I stuck it to the page then incorporated a little journaling about how I can’t wait to “GO” to Washington permanently. On the right are an illustration from artist Danny Brito (cut from an art show postcard) and a Studio Calico bicycle print index card, on which I wrote about how much I want to get a bicycle at some point.

IMG_7796

The Playbill cover and ticket stub from ‘Wicked’, which I saw in 2008. (FYI, AHH-MAZING!!)

IMG_7797

The last page and inside back cover were the same baby blue as the front. I covered the right side of the page (which also has a pocket) with another sheet of Urban Rhapsody patterned paper and a Hambly birdcage sticker. On the left I just glued on some 1”x1” pin-up girl images that I had cut out of a 2008 Gil Elvgren wall calendar (I love retro pin-ups; they epitomize femininity and sex appeal to me).

IMG_7798

And those are all the pages I’ve done so far.

 

A few observations:

  • This book has 39 pages (78 if you count front and back), so even though I have completed quite a few, there are still plenty of pages left to fill.
  • The binding allows for the books to expand a bit so you can actually make them pretty nice and thick (who doesn’t love a nice, thick book filled will all kinds of awesome memories?).
  • The pages themselves are heavyweight and very good quality (just a hair thinner than cardstock), so they can hold a lot of heavier items (such as the postcards or Thor tags above) very nicely without ripping or tearing easily.
  • The outer cover is a very sturdy, heavyweight chipboard with fabric covering the spine. It should be able to withstand a lot of wear and tear, and can be altered with paper, paint, or whatever your favorite medium (I’m keeping mine as is because I like the raw chipboard look). The books are covered with a removable clear plastic cover, which I would recommend leaving on until you complete the book, just to keep the cover from getting dirty or scratched while in progress.
  • My only complaint so far is with the glue half of the SMASH sticks that come with each book. Once the glue dries it doesn’t have a lot of “hold” and a few of the items I glued with it peeled right off. I reattached them using either an adhesive runner or washi tape. The pen side of the stick is awesome, though. Fine point, felt-tip, black ink, and it’s archival quality and acid-free. I would rather they eliminate the glue portion altogether and just include a larger ink barrel.

Thankfully, I FINALLY got my SMASH order from StopAndScrap.com today (although three items are still on backorder; arggg!!), so I’m looking forward to incorporating more of the SMASH elements into these books. These are great quality items – with the exception of the glue stick as mentioned above – and a lot of fun to play around with. I’m really enjoying the freeform aspect of these books.

 

(And, no, I’m not being paid or sponsored by K&Company to praise the SMASH collection. I just really, genuinely love these products and I am excited to be able to use them.)

 

Peace out, yo!

 

7 Responses to “SMASH Pages”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Wow! Love your smash book! How fun :) I think I *need* one… They’re awesome! Xo

    • balou Says:

      I think the “Pretty” themed one (the pink book) would super cute for a baby book, if you don’t have one. They really are so much fun to do. =)

  2. Maritza Says:

    Love it. I just purchased mine 1 week ago but on backorder.

  3. ady abreu Says:

    OMG, I want the blue one first and than the black one. I love your pages. I told Vane last night about using the pink one for Grace and all the stuff she’s gonna start collecting. I put everything on my wishlist. You should submit your photos to the smash blog so they can post them.

    • balou Says:

      i thought about it but i’ve been too lazy to email them. i might do so after i do a few more pages. that reminds me, i have to share pics of the other accessories i got to go with them.

      i like all the different online inspiration from other people using them. like i’m thinking i could use one of them as a “road trip journal” for when we move. we’ll see.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.