Searching for Normalcy

"And finally, above all else, it is about leaving a mark that I existed: I was here. I was hungry. I was defeated. I was happy. I was sad. I was in love. I was afraid. I was hopeful. I had an idea and I had a good purpose and that’s why I made works of art…" – Felix Gonzalez-Torres

A “Smash”-ing Success! June 10, 2011

Filed under: Scrapbooking — Lulu @ 12:08 am

So all the way back in February I wrote this post where I mentioned how much I was looking forward to the release of K&Company’s SMASH books. Well, they were finally made available for online pre-orders around mid-April. Of course I had to jump on that. And, boy, am I glad I didn’t hesitate because they are currently sold out EVERYWHERE! I ordered all four books (the black and red books directly from K&Company, and the blue and pink books – plus a bunch of the accessories that come with them – from StopAndScrap.com).*

 

The cool thing about these books is that they are not intended for traditional scrapbooking. They are sort of freeform memory books. They are intended to hold random bits and pieces of ephemera, such as ticket stubs, receipts, greeting cards, etc. Basically the kind of sentimental stuff that you would collect and keep in a shoebox, but not necessarily use on a traditional scrapbook page. The difference between these books, and a regular journal or memory book, is that all the interior pages have graphics and/or images on them (and let’s be honest; I’m all about pretty paper). All four books have different themes.

 

(These images are from the Smash books blog.)  The black book is the Mod theme:

 

The red book is the Doodle theme:

 

The blue book is the Retro theme:

 

The pink book is the Pretty theme:

 

So, basically, they are pretty notebooks to keep your crap in. =)  For example, I have a box full of stuff I’ve been holding on to, but wasn’t sure what to do with any of it. Things like concert and movie tickets, programs from Heat and Panthers games, postcards from a museum exhibit, our expired passes from Jungle Island…  I love collecting all these things because they remind me of good times that we’ve had, but since they are all just sitting in a box on a shelf, they weren’t really serving any purpose. Now I can stick them in my Smash books, where I’m more prone to look through them and reminisce about fun memories.

 

I have to admit that since I received my first two books, I have had little to no interest in traditional scrapbooking. Sometimes we lose our mojo and scrapping takes a back seat to other things. I still love it, but it’s much harder to design and put together a 12” by 12” page, with photos and embellishments and journaling, than it is to glue a receipt into a little album at random and scribble a quick note about it. 

 

I have to confess, I just received my first two books a week and a half ago and I’ve already completed about half of the black book (I decided to focus on completing one book at a time, instead of going back and forth between them)! It really is so much fun to Smash! There’s no rhyme or reason to it; you just go with the flow, which is very freeing and enjoyable. I’ve never really gotten into art journaling, but this I can handle.

 

In my next post, I’ll share some images of my book pages so far and a few details.

 

Peace out, yo! 

 


* I received the order from K&Company last week; the order was placed on 5/20. I’m STILL waiting for the Stop & Scrap order which was placed almost a month prior, on 4/27/11. I don’t think I’ll be ordering from S&S again.

 

2 Responses to “A “Smash”-ing Success!”

  1. ady abreu Says:

    Thanks for the run down on these smash books. I want one now. I’ll be adding it to my BDay wish list…

  2. balou Says:

    It’s really fun. I’ve almost filled the first book (which makes me kind of sad, actually) and it’s only been 2.5 weeks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.